New Ulm and La Crosse were tied 1-1 at the end of the first period. La Crosse had a strong second period to obtain a 3-2 lead to start the third period. New Ulm scored two goals in the third period to take the, 4-3, win.

La Crosse got on the board first with a goal from Micah Anderson, 2:42 into the first period. Alec Seeger was credited with the assist.

Alex Nagel, with an assist from Luc Kreuser, scored at 4:44 into the first period to tie the game up at 1-1.

La Crosse’s Tyler Briley and Matt Wolter each scored a goal in the first three minutes of the second period. Danny Toycen, Brendan Elliot and Dylan Goggin each tallied one assist in the second period.

Nicholas Campbell scored with just over six minutes remaining in the second period to cut La Crosse’s lead to 3-2. The assists were credited to Mac Hankinson and Jacob Padley.

Kreuser scored 22 seconds into the third period with assists from Nagel and Bennett Witta. The game was tied at 3-3 until Jared Erickson scored an unassisted short-handed goal at the 8:45 mark of the third period to give New Ulm the 4-3 lead.

Brady Boudreau faced 32 shots and made 29 saves for New Ulm. La Crosse’s goaltender, Will Graves, stopped 33 of the 37 shots New Ulm generated.

New Ulm and La Crosse each totaled 10 penalty minutes on five infractions. New Ulm went 0-for-3 on the power play and La Crosse went 1-for-4.