Despite outshooting La Crosse 38-25, New Ulm was only able to get one puck past La Crosse’s goaltender, Andrew Wagner. La Crosse’s excellent goaltending and New Ulm’s inability to capitalize on their nine power play opportunities cost them the game.

La Crosse forward Lukas Motloch opened the scoring at 7:29 into the first period with an assist from Connor Losen.

Fritz Belisle got New Ulm on the board 37 seconds into the second period to tie the game up at 1-1. Trevor Woytcke and Luc Kreuser were credited with the assists.

Losen, Danny Toycen, Hunter Dolan, Tyler Briley and Joshua Frerks each scored one goal for La Crossse. Toycen, in addition to his goal in the second period, also tallied two assists in the third period. Nathan Marquardt, Donny Schultz, Zach Lanz, Briley, Kadin Machusak, Sam Dabrowski and Jp Eykyn each registered one assist.

Nathan Siclovan made 14 saves on the 19 shots he faced. Jon Albers replaced Siclovan in net 19 seconds into the third period with New Ulm trailing La Crosse 5-1. Albers faced six shots and made five saves.

New Ulm totaled 20 penalty minutes on 10 infractions and went 0-for-9 on the power play. La Crosse had a total of 40 penalty minutes on 11 infractions and went 2-for-8 on the power play.