By: E Koehler,

PHOTOS          HIGHLIGHTS                 BOX SCORE          SCHEDULE

New Ulm put the pressure on North Iowa, outshooting them 32-24. The game was all tied up at 3-3 at the end of regulation time and forced into overtime. The game was ultimately decided in a shootout. North Iowa’s Cameron Fagerlee scored the game-winner in the fourth round of the shootout.

North Iowa took an early 2-0 lead in the first three minutes of the game with goals from Connor Clemons and Peter Verstegen.

New Ulm got on the board in the second period at 2:22 with a goal from Jack Parks. Parks netted the puck glove side, off a rebound from Kirk Coppock’s shot.

Alex Timm gave North Iowa a 3-1 lead with an unassisted goal 8:18 into the third period.

Tom Reilly scored a stunning goal 32 seconds later to get New Ulm within one. Reilly carried the puck from the neutral zone, dangled two defensemen and buried it with a backhand shot from the slot.

Nickolas Wieben found the back of the net with a pass from Sam Wenner immediately off the faceoff to tie the game up 3-3 at 10:18 of the third period.

Ryan Bielenberg stopped 21 of the 25 shots he faced for New Ulm. North Iowa’s goaltender, Colin Cain, made 29 saves on the 32 shots he faced.

New Ulm totaled eight penalty minutes on four infractions and went 0-for-6 on the power play. North Iowa had a total of 12 penalty minutes on six infractions and went 0-for-4 on the power play.