By: E Koehler,


Austin Langworthy tallied two goals and one assist in his New Ulm Steel debut against his former team, the Breezy Point North Stars.

Breezy Point was successful in shutting down their former teammate in the first period. Langworthy finally broke through in the second period at 6:30 scoring top shelf, over the glove of Bronson Moore. Langworthy added his second goal in the third period with a wrister from the slot at the 1:08 mark.

New Ulm dominated in the first period, outshooting Breezy Point 15-5 and netting five goals scored by Steven Mordini, Kirk Coppock, Alex Nagel, Ryan Smith and Tom Reilly.

Smith had a five-point game, scoring one goal and registering four assists. Smith scored a power-play goal in the first period to put New Ulm up 4-0 from just outside the crease, off of Luc Kreuser’s slap shot rebound.

New Ulm had a statistically perfect penalty kill on Breezy Point’s three power play opportunities. New Ulm’s power play went 2-for-4 as Sam Storlie, in addition to Smith’s power-play goal, capitalized on a power play with a one-timer in the second period.

Mordini also had a multi-point game, scoring one goal and tallying three assists. Mordini’s wrister from the point opened the scoring 36 seconds after the opening faceoff to give New Ulm an early 1-0 lead.

Hayden Hoyt scored two goals for Breezy Point, with one being an unassisted, well-executed breakaway goal.

Ryan Bielenberg stopped 21 of the 24 shots he faced for New Ulm. Breezy Point’s starting goaltender, Moore, had a tough first period, allowing five goals on 14 shots. Lucas Ehrlich replaced Moore in net at the 14:35 mark of the first period. Ehrlich faced one shot and made one save. Moore was back in net to start the second period and finished the game with 17 more saves.


New Ulm Steel Point Summary: Austin Langworthy(2g, 1a), Ryan Smith(1g, 4a), Steven Mordini(1g, 3a), Alex Nagel(1g, 2a), Luc Kreuser(1g, 2a), Sam Storlie(1g, 1a), Kirk Coppock(1g, 1a), Tom Reilly(1g, 1a), Trevor Woytcke(1a)]

Breezy Point North Stars Point Summary: Hayden Hoyt(2g), Jared Fladebo(1g), Kieran Brosnan(2a), Alex Flicek(1a), Jakob Parisien(1a)