By: E Koehler,


The New Ulm Steel put another one in the win column against the Alexandria Blizzard Friday night. Despite being outshot 46-27, New Ulm was able to get seven pucks in the net and beat Alexandria by three goals.

It was a night for great firsts as Sam Ayd, Deniss Berdniks and Nathan Andrade each scored their first goals of the season. James Royce had a successful home debut in net, getting the “W” and making 42 saves for New Ulm.

The scoring, up until early in the third period, was back-and-forth, with New Ulm always taking the lead and Alexandria tying it back up.

Jordan Cooper opened the scoring in the first period at 10:25 with assists from Jarrett Cammarata and Jack Parks. New Ulm was holding on to a 1-0 lead until Alexandria’s Caleb Strong tied the game up at 1-1 at the 7:50 mark of the second period.

James Spaargaren took back the lead for New Ulm, but Carter Rieland scored a short-handed goal just under a minute later to tie the game at 2-2.

The same thing happened again with Berdniks scoring at the 13:09 mark of the second period and Alexandria’s Cole Lehmann answering back with a power-play goal less than a minute later to make the score 3-3.

Cammarata netted one near the end of the second period to give New Ulm a 4-3 lead going into the third period. That lead was quickly stolen once again when Zach Curry scored just 46 seconds into the third period.

New Ulm was able to shut down Alexandria for the remaining 19 minutes of the game and score three goals, as well, by Ayd, Andrade and Parks.

New Ulm totaled 10 penalty minutes on five infractions and went 0-for-2 on the power play. Alexandria had a total of 24 penalty minutes on 3 infractions and went 2-for-5 on the power play.



NUM: Jarrett Cammarata[1g, 2a], Jack Parks[1g, 2a], Jordan Cooper[1g,1a], James Spaargaren[1g, 1a], Sam Ayd[1g, 1a], Nathan Andrade[1g], Keegan Bauman[2a], Jake Ford[2a], Corey Stormer[1a], Jacob Halvorson[1a], Deniss Berdniks[1a]

ALX: Caleb Strong[1g], Carter Rieland[1g], Cole Lehmann[1g], Zach Curry[1g], Jared Sanborn[1a], Jack Westlund[1a], Dylan Mattson[1a], Joe Dokken[1a]