By: E Koehler,


The New Ulm Steel had a rough first period, allowing the Rochester Grizzlies to score four goals. In New Ulm’s past couple of games, seven of the 11 goals scored against them were recorded in the first period.

New Ulm, again, came out much better in the second period, shutting down Rochester and scoring two goals. 42 percent of Rochester’s shots last night were generated in the second period. Henry Baribeau, despite a disappointing first period, stopped all 19 shots.

James Spaargaren got New Ulm on the board at the 2:32 mark of the second period. Jacob Halvorson had a breakway opportunity, with Spaargaren following close behind. Halvorson’s shot was deflected off Rochester’s goaltender, Nick Bucklin, which left him out of position and scrambling. Spaargaren collected the rebound and snapped the puck into the wide open net.

Sam Ayd cut Rochester’s lead in half with a power-play goal from the high slot that found its way through traffic and went in five-hole.

The third period scoring started with a beautiful tic-tac-toe goal off of a 3-on-1 rush. Halvorson carried the puck down the ice, made a centering pass to Oliver Hoeschen, who then passed to Spaargaren on his left. Spaargaren buried the puck stick-side at the 1:40 mark of the third period to get New Ulm within one goal of Rochester.

New Ulm fell far behind once again as Brock Hildenbrand and Vladislav Sorokin extended Rochester’s lead to 6-3 with a pair of even strength goals.

Jarrett Cammarata added an unassisted goal for New Ulm with 2:56 remaining in regulation time to make the final score 6-4.

Baribeau made 39 saves on the 45 shots he faced for New Ulm. Bucklin stopped 24 of the 28 shots New Ulm generated.

New Ulm totaled 22 penalty minutes on seven infractions and went 1-for-3 on the power play. Rochester had a total of 18 penalty minutes on five infractions and went 0-for-5 on the power play.



NUM: James Spaargaren[2g], Jarrett Cammarata[1g, 1a], Sam Ayd[1g], Jacob Halvorson[2a], Oliver Hoeschen[1a]

ROC: Joey Fodstad[3g], Vladislav Sorokin[2g, 1a], Brock Hildenbrand[1g], Peyton Hart[2a], Bradley Postula[2a], Richard Szabo[1a], Lucas Newman[1a], John Rowell[1a], Matthew DeRosa[1a], Logan Olson[1a]